Databases
Search our A–Z list of databases to find quality academic sources across all subject areas – including journal articles, eBooks, reports, and more.
TUS Library Databases – A–Z
TUS Library provides access to a wide range of online academic databases. These databases include scholarly articles, eBooks, multimedia resources, case law, standards, statistics, and more across all subject areas. Use them to support your research, assignments, and academic work.
You can start by using Discover to search across most databases at once or explore Publication Finder to locate specific journals and publications.
Please Note
Academic Collection of eBooks (EBSCO)
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Offering more than 170,000 eBooks, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database offers an extensive collection of online resources spanning the life, health, social and physical sciences, as well as the humanities. It includes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, with over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, along with academic journals, magazines, trade journals, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings. In addition to full-text access, the database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of over 13,200 publications, including monographs and other scholarly materials. It features content dating back to 1887, with most full-text titles available in a searchable PDF format.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from Animal science, Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Ethnic and multicultural studies, Law, Mathematics, Music, Pharmaceutical sciences, Physics, Psychology, Science and technology, Women’s studies and more.
Database Information
Tutorials
Physical therapy books, videos, Q&A, cases, NPTE® resources, and teaching resources for students and faculty.
Standards, regulatory, product and supplier information in the areas of construction, civil engineering and health and safety. Includes full-text NSAI and British Standards.
- Engineering Workbench with Knowledge Workspace: Occupational Health and Safety Information Service. To obtain Irish health and safety information only, select Engineering Workbench and choose “Irish Occupational Health and Safety” from the search dropdown.
- The Irish Construction Information Service Plus
Training and help guides: Engineering Workbench, Construction Information Service.
Subject coverage includes:
- 3D Real-time – anatomy app
- Functional Anatomy – guides to movement and exercise with videos and structured text
- Anatomy and Physiology – online textbook with 20 modules, quizzes, multiple-choice questions
Art, Design and Architecture Collection (Proquest)
Art, Design and Architecture Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes:
- Collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies.
- the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history).
ACM Digital Library (1951-2000)
ACM has opened the articles published during the first 50 years of its publishing program. These articles, published between 1951 and the end of 2000, are now open and freely available to view and download via the ACM Digital Library.
Bloomsbury Professional Online
An online platform that provides access to a range of Irish legal and professional publications with commentary, and analysis.
Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research all from one resource.
Britannica Academic Guided Tour
British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) 
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, where you can find British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
BMJ Best Practice is a point of care tool that draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis and treatment. BMJ is now available online freely to all in Ireland, access provided by the HSE.
Business eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This collection offers 17,000 of eBooks selected to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts, all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
Subjects Include: Marketing, Finance, Supply chain management, Entrepreneurship, Career growth, Personal development, Communication, Networking, Business law, Management, Workplace culture, Human resources, and many more!
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Cambridge University Press (Journals Only)
Cambridge University Press provides access to a multidisciplinary collection of over 400 leading journals, including over 200 published on behalf of learned and professional societies.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations. This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
A Daily Publication for Contemporary Ceramic Art + Design.
CFile is a global community of cutting-edge educators, ceramics creatives, critics, curators, collectors, dealers, and brilliant young techies.
It covers eBooks, exhibition catalogues, conference reports, artist biographies and a physical journal in the area of ceramics and pottery.
CINAHL Ultimate is the ultimate research tool for nursing and allied health studies, CINAHL Ultimate provides fast and easy access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. CINAHL Ultimate provides access to more than 1,500 active full-text journals and magazines.
Search modes : Use – ‘Find all my search terms’.
If doing a systematic review please be aware the following are automatically applied and will need to be removed at the start of any new search:
Limiters – Full Text; Expanders – Apply equivalent subjects;
Get clear and concise referencing guidance with model examples to help you confidently acknowledge the work of others.
Ebooks, videos and images.
Following single sign-on, ClinicalKey Student Nursing currently requires entry of name and email before access is granted to the search interface.
To change your details when logged in, click on My Account – Settings on the top right and edit the fields.
ClinicalKey Student is an interactive medical learning platform with books, videos, images and quick access summaries. You can take and share notes, and create revision flashcards. Registration and continued login with registered details to access the e-books is enforced by the supplier. To minimise the information given, you can enter your student number for first name and second name fields when registering.
Elsevier Clinical Skills combines evidence-based skills and procedures with competency management functionality, to ensure that nursing knowledge and skills are current, and reflective of best practices and the latest clinical guidelines.
A regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
Coronavirus Research Database (Proquest)
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
Reports and indexes of all written judgements from the Irish superior courts since 2011. Also, legal events and developments news.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source (EBSCO)
This database offers an extensive collection of important full-text journals, many with no embargo. This unique database includes many active full-text sources not available in any other EBSCO databases.
Documents on Irish Foreign Policy (DIFP)
The project publishes essential source material for anyone interested in the development of Irish foreign policy since 1919.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) (Proquest)
Over 150,000 ebooks
Select one or multiple databases to search.
Provides full-text access to journals in the subject areas of Management, Engineering, Business, Human Resources, Organization, Information & Knowledge, Marketing, Logistics, Health and Social Care.
The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the US Institute of Education Sciences and the US Department of Education. It provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included.
EUR-Lex offers access to EU law, case-law by the Court of Justice of the European Union and other public EU documents as well as the authentic electronic Official Journal of the EU – in 24 languages.
Financial Times Online (Additional registration required)
FT.com (Financial Times Online) is the online edition of the daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news internationally.
New users are required to create an account to gain access. You are not required to enter your telephone number when creating your account. Upon completion of the account setup form using the link above, please login directly through the main FT login site accessible at ft.com.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Health Research Premium (Proquest)
Health care information from a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, including the top ProQuest health and medical databases.
Access to The Law Journal Library containing more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals, and English Reports, full reprint (1220-1865).
IEEE’s most comprehensive collection, featuring high-quality content from the IEEE and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Included is access to all IEEE/IET journals, conference proceedings, and active standards—30% of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technologies.
Getting started help page
Irish Legal Information Initiative
IRLII (Irish Legal Information Initiative), hosted by UCC School of Law, is the Irish hub of the global Free Access to Law Movement (FALM). IRLII was established to contribute to the British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII). Access Cases, Journal Articles, Statutes and Statutory Instruments.
Irish Medicines Formulary is the only medicines database specific for Ireland. It contains prescribing information for every medicine/drug marketed in Ireland.
Access many Irish newspapers from 1738 to current day. A national newspaper database to research Irish history both contemporary and modern with legacy newspapers presented as they were printed in black and white full page format and a current newspaper archive through the full colour PDF archive.
The electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments, the official versions of which remain the printed versions published by Government Publications. You can track amendments to legislation, access the Constitution and a selection of pre-1922 legislation while links to external legislation resources are also provided.
A key resource for property professionals, brought to you by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. Provides access to: RICS standards, best practice commentary, key cases, sample forms and precedents and much more.
JOVE Video Journal, Science Education, Textbook Mapping,
Digital Library of academic journals, books and primary sources. Includes access to the Ireland Collection, Arts & Sciences Collection I – VII and the Life Science Collection.
Kanopy is the best video streaming service for quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain. We partner with public libraries and universities to bring you an ad-free experience that can be enjoyed on your TV, mobile phone, tablets and online.
- Lexis+
Includes Halsbury’s Laws of England and Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia, legal research, practical guidance, and legal news hub. - Nexis
Business news, companies and financials, biographies, and cases.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Country, industry and company profiles. Formerly known as Datamonitor.
Media sourcing hub.
- British National Formulary – Guidance on the actions and uses of drugs prescribed in the UK.
- Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference – Information and background on conventional and complementary drugs and associated compounds, international proprietary names, and disease treatments.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
National Standards Authority of Ireland i2i
The NSAI (National Standards Authority of Ireland) database provides full access to all Irish (I.S.), all European (EN) and all International (ISO) Standards with Irish annexes.
Video tutorial on searching
Search Tip: Omit the year of the standard when searching.
To view the User Guide, login to the NSAI database, and click on user-guide located in the top right corner.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO)
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work. Contents include: full-text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
Subject coverage includes art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
Search results link out to full-text Doctoral Dissertations in Institutional Repositories.
Login via Moodle using link above to find Osmosis access instructions. Medicine database. Move seamlessly from learning to self-assessment with professionally illustrated, bite-sized, on-demand videos based on proven learning science and accompanied by assessment items, notes and linked resources.
A collection of legacy nursing databases and ebooks, MEDLINE, and the current journals: Ear and Hearing; and Nursing Times.
The Oxford Journals Collection is the core of Oxford University Press’s (OUP’s) journals offering, containing over 417 prestigious journals in a range of subject areas.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
Index and abstracts of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and nearly 100,000 books from some 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers. Books and journals are fully integrated on Project MUSE’s robust and accessible scholar-designed platform, with a wide variety of affordable library acquisition options available. MUSE also offers more than 5,000 open access books and several open access journals on the platform.
ProQuest Databases – Search All
Search across Social Science Premium, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, PTSDPubs, Publicly Available Content Database and Ebook Central.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Index and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites.
Database of research funding opportunities and research policy news.
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text from more than 80 sources.
Access is available to the SAGE Premier 2021 Collection, which provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed journals with coverage across a range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Elsevier’s leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. Extensive and unique full text database covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature, including high-impact factor titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.
It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. Access to many eBooks in the following collections: Business, Management, Hospitality and Tourism, Computer Science, Energy, Engineering, Finance, Forensics, and Media Technology.
To refine your search results to subscribed content, please tick the subscribed content box on the left under Refine by.
Science Online publishes the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
An online tool that offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 7,000 research institutions and 220 nations worldwide using bibliometrics. It enables you to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyse research trends. Please note you will be prompted to sign in with your personal Scopus login.
Check out the Quick User Guide for more information.
Scopus is a source neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. With over 25,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social science, arts and humanities.
For more information, please explore the Scopus LibGuide
Child development video based training.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest)
Provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
A sociology research database. Features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Springer Computer Science eBooks
Please note, this access is for 2024 publications only. After you authenticate above, you will have full-text access to any content with this subscription. The sign up/log in and links at the top of the pages may be ignored.
Springer Education Reference Books
Please note, this access is for 120 Education Reference titles only. After you authenticate above, you will have full-text access to any content with this subscription. The sign up/log in and links at the top of the pages may be ignored.
Access to over 2,000 journals covering the 1997-2024 time period. After you authenticate above, you will have full-text access to any content with this subscription. The log in links at the top of the pages may be ignored.
A comprehensive electronic database of the primary sources of Irish tax law, commentary and practice assembled in one easy-to-use system.
TaxFind gives you access to: ITI tax legislation books, ITI tax commentary books, Irish Tax Review journal archive, selected Irish and ECJ tax case judgments, Appeal Commissioners’ determinations from the year 2000, proceedings of world tax conferences and revenue material.
Access available to approximately 1500 journal titles in Taylor & Francis’ Social Science and Humanities Collection, and over 200 journal titles in the Medical Collection.
Literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Supplier has not provided direct links to subscription titles only; so your search may result in articles to which there is no access.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
An independent, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting the case method in business education and sharing our world-leading knowledge and expertise in case teaching, writing and learning.
UK & Ireland Reference Centre (EBSCO)
Combines British & Irish sources including magazines, newspapers, and reference books with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries.
The Encyclopedia of Britain and the Encyclopedia of Ireland are included in this collection.
vLexJustis is a case law database containing full-text Irish reports and digests from 1838 to present as well as access to legal information from over 70 countries.
First Law content is available on VLex.
Following single sign-on, this database currently requires entry of name and email before access is granted to the search interface, this can be anonymous.
To change your details when logged in, click on My Account – Settings on the top right and edit the fields.
Provides access to Irish legal information including the Irish Law Reports Monthly and other reported and unreported case material, Legislation, Journals and news.
Following single sign-on, this database currently requires entry of name and email before access is granted to the search interface, this can be anonymous.
To change your details when logged in, click on My Account – Settings on the top right and edit the fields.
The database provides access to UK case reports, legislation, analytical commentary, a comprehensive collection of full text journals, a legal journal index and EU material.
Journal Access Only. Wiley provides access to over 8 million articles from approximately 1,600 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
Under certain conditions specified in the Copyright and Related Rights Act (Ireland) 2000 libraries and archives may be authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction may not be used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research, and that only one copy be provided for scholarly purposes, unless copyright fees are paid. Further reproduction of paper copies made from this computer system may be in violation of copyright laws and is prohibited.
Disclaimer: These guidelines are intended as a general introduction to some relevant aspects of copyright and are not an authoritative interpretation of the law.
